1

Council Members Present: Elise Eichmuller, Joanne McKenzie, Ashlee Lay Higinio, Lyndsey Bilocerkowec, Afton Ellis, Tamara Kremer, Sashya Churchill, and Emily Hines

1. WELCOME

• Elise Eichmuller welcomed the membership and introduced Parliamentarian Jason Gariepy and council members.

2. CALL TO ODER

• Jason Gariepy called the meeting to order at 8:38 a.m.

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

• D. Meyer moved to approve the agenda of the meeting. **MOTION CARRIED.**

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF OCTOBER 23, 2016, AGM

• The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of October 23, 2016, were reviewed by the membership at the meeting. J. Plomp moved to approve the minutes. **MOTION CARRIED.**

5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT – ELISE EICHMULLER

- Highlighted the learning material for the ASRA Committees that were obtained at the NCRA Convention in Las Vegas.
- Provided an update on the Bylaws Committee.
- Provided an update on the website.
- Announced that we have a new public member.
- Discussed communication and the aim to continue with quarterly newsletters, Facebook discussions and questions, and sending reminders and notifications on email and Facebook.

6. TREASURER'S REPORT – LYNDSEY BILOCERKOWEC

- The 2016-2017 Financial Report was distributed to the members.
- Lyndsey discussed the general and administrative expenses.
- Questions and discussion about the amortization of intangible assets and advertising and promotion.

7. REGISTRAR'S REPORT – JOANNE MCKENZIE

- The 2016-2017 Registrar's Report was displayed on the projection screen for members to review.
- Questions and discussion regarding resignations and cancellations, the difference of participating members and certified shorthand reporters, and if the importance of CE credits are explained to students.

8. NEW BUSINESS

- Discussed the new public member appointment and their role.
- Discussion about the Lunch and Learn and CART Committees.

9. ASRA COUNCIL ELECTIONS

- a) Returning Officer: Sharon Irwin.
- b) Election of President: Elise Eichmuller was nominated as president by L. Hallworth. No further nominations were received. Elise Eichmuller was elected the new ASRA president by acclamation.

Election of First Vice President: Celine Erickson was nominated as first vice president by K. Prouls. No further nominations were received. Celine Erickson was elected the new ASRA first vice president by acclamation.

• L. Hallworth raised a point of order regarding the amount of council vacancies, and clarification was given that more than 50% of members are staying on council.

Election of Second Vice President: Christy Longacre was nominated as second vice president by K. Campbell. No further nominations were received. Christy Longacre was elected the new ASRA second vice president by acclamation.

Election of Treasurer: Lyndsey Bilocerkowec was nominated as treasurer by C. James. No further nominations were received. Lyndsey Bilocerkowec was elected the new ASRA treasurer by acclamation.

Election of Secretary: Jody Yankowski was nominated as secretary by S. McKinney. No further nominations were received. Jody Yankowski was elected the new ASRA secretary by acclamation.

Election of Registrar: Joanne McKenzie was nominated as registrar by J. Weigl. No further nominations were received. Joanne McKenzie was elected the new ASRA registrar by acclamation.

10. SPEED CONTEST RESULTS

- Joanne introduced the participants in this year's ASRA Speed Competition.
- Joanne announced that Katie McLeod was the winner.

11. FURTHER NEW BUSINESS

• Joanne discussed the A to Z program at NAIT.

12. INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS AND ADDRESS BY NCRA REPRESENTATIVE

• Tiva Wood, NCRA representative, addressed the membership and swore in the new council members.

13. ADJOURNMENT

• C. James motioned to adjourn at 10:15 a.m. MOTION CARRIED.

Submitted by Tamara Kremer, ASRA Secretary 2016-2017.