# Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association Minutes of Annual General Meeting Sunday, October 28, 2018, 511 Bow Valley Trail , Canmore, Alberta

**Council Members Present:** Elise Eichmuller, Lyndsey Bilocerkowec, Sashya Churchill, Sandra Burns, Joanne McKenzie, Celine Erickson, and Jody Yankowski, Laura Collis

#### Absent: Christy Longacre

#### 1. WELCOME

• Elise Eichmuller welcomes the membership and introduced Parliamentarian Jason Gariepy and council members.

### 2. CALL TO ORDER

• Jason Gariepy called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.

### 3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

• A. Lay Higinio moved to approve the agenda of the meeting. **MOTIONED CARRIED** 

#### 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 24, 2017, AGM

• The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of September 24, 2017, were reviewed by the membership at the meeting. C. James moved to approve the minutes. **MOTIONED CARRIED.** 

### 5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT - ELISE EICHMULLER

- Advised of meeting with Beverley Theresa, a social media consultant.
- Discussed developing a LinkedIn and Facebook account.
- Discussed a Twitter account and decided not to create one.
- Discussed an Instagram account.
- Presented changes to the number of CE credits in each category.
- Sandra Burns advised that volunteer work will be allowed as a form of continuing education credits.

- Discussed that K. McLeod and J. Lawerence attended the Expo for the Hard of Hearing to provide captioning .
- Advised there will be scholarships at NAIT for the next three years.
- Discussed attending Law Day in Calgary, Lethbridge, and Edmonton.
- Introduced council's public member Nancy Chalifoux.
- Introduced the new student member Ariana McCalla.

## 6. TREASURER'S REPORT

- The 2017/2018 Financial Report was distributed to the members.
- Lyndsey Bilocerkowec advised cost to put together conferences have increased.
- Discussed conference amounts had an increase due to increased spending on the 60th anniversary of the ASRA.
- Discussed contribution to NAIT scholarships .
- L. Hallworth raised questions about emergency money, amortization ends this year, and website security.

### 7. REGISTRAR'S REPORT

- The 2017/2018 registrar's report was displayed on the projection screen for members review.
- Discussed the reason for membership decrease was due to reporters retiring and students going west for employment.
- Joanne McKenzie named long-time ASRA members, and they were recognized for their work and support of the ASRA.

### 8. NEW BUSINESS

- Discussed Nancy Chalifoux, new public member, who was not present
- Discussed committee work: social media, Lunch and Learn with lawyers, possible film for lawyers.
- M. Smith advised she could help with script.

- Late fees discussion for 2019
- Questions and discussion about late fees

# JASON GARIEPY- MOTION ON LATE FEES

- \$125 membership fees until October 31st. After November 30th, fees increase to \$150. After December 31st, fees increase to \$175, and then member is no longer a member in good standing
- Elise Eichmuller motion to approve
- Angela Porco 2nd
- Open for discussion
- A. Lay Higinio motion to end questions and discussion
- J. Weigl 2nd
- Go forward with motion
- Call vote motion is carried

### 9. TRANSCRIPTIONISTS

• Raised as discussion item

### **10. COUNCIL ELECTIONS**

- a. Returning officer J. Weigl
- b. Election of President Elise Eichmuller was nominated by J. Weigl. No further nominations were received. Elise Eichmuller was elected the ASRA president by acclamation.
- c. Election of Practice Review: Sashya Chruchill. No further nominations were received. Sashya Churchill was elected the new ASRA Practice Review by acclamation.
- d. Election of Special Projects: Angela Porco. No further nominations were received. Angela Porco was elected the new ASRA Special Projects by acclimation.
- e. Election of Registrar: Lyndsey Bryt. No further nominations were received. Lyndsey Bryt was elected the new ASRA Registrar by acclamation.

#### **11. SPEED CONTEST RESULTS**

- Joanne McKenzie introduced the participants of the speed contest: ASRA Speed Competition
- Joanne McKenzie announced that Katie McLeod was the winner

### 12. INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS AND ADDRESS BY NCRA REPRESENTATIVE

• Christine Phipps, NCRA representative, addressed the membership and swore in the new council members

#### 13. ADJOURNMENT

• E. Royal motioned to adjourn at 10:05.

Submitted by Jody Yankowski, ASRA Secretary 2018-2019.