Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

Sunday, September 29, 2019, Edmonton, Alberta

Council Members Present: Elise Eichmuller, Lyndsey Bilocerkowec, Sashya Churchill, Celine Erickson, Jody Yankowski, Christy Longacre, and Lyndsey Byrt

1. WELCOME

• Elise Eichmuller welcomes the membership and introduces Parliamentarian Jason Gariepy and council members

2. CALL TO ORDER

• Jason Gariepy calls meeting to order at 8:30

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A. Lay Higinio moved to approve the agenda of the meeting. MOTIONED CARRIED

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FOR OCTOBER 28, 2018, AGM

 The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of October 28, 2018, were reviewed by the membership at the meeting. J. Czaplicki moved to approve the minutes. MOTIONED CARRIED

5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT – ELISE EICHMULLER

- Advised Law Day in Calgary was successful
- Advised Lunch-and-Learn had about 50 lawyers in attendance
- Discussed the ASRA website: a new member-only documents
- Advised membership of the complaint regarding tape recorder and no reporter present
- Thanked Ariana McCalla for her time on council
- Introduced Ericah Crumback as the new student member
- Discussed getting the website fixed with regards to members being CSR(A)

6. TREASURER'S REPORT

- 2018/2019 Financial Report
- Conference fees are down
- Increase in spending due to investigation
- Accountant fees and Jason Gariepy are listed as professional fees
- 60th anniversary conference spending was higher
- NAIT scholarship was paid twice in 2017
- Council pledge for five years at \$3,000

7. REGISTRAR'S REPORT

- 2018/2019 was displayed on projector
- Advised membership is lower due to members moving out of province

Member in Good Standing letters will be sent out by Lyndsey Bryt

8. **NEW BUSINESS**

- Advised bylaws should be reviewed every five years
- Privacy
- ASRA changed gender specific pronouns
- Updated generally accepted practices
- Reviewed in terms of colours: purple is gender language; green is privacy; red update grammatical language; and blue is Bill 11
- Went through themes and sections

Purple:

- Main Motion: to approve purple section (gender specific) with removal of chair from (c),
 (f), and (g): L. Hallworth; 2nd J. Plomp
- Motion to approve purple section in bylaws 2/3 vote. Carried unanimously.
- Abstentions: 2

Green:

- **Main Motion**: Approve green section (privacy considerations in bylaws): K. McLeod; 2nd D. Jackson
- Amendment: for a period not less than 7 years or as specified by law or Rules of Court for a period; L. Slywka; 2nd L. Webber. Amendment is carried.
- Motion to approve green section as amended in bylaws 2/3 vote. Carried unanimously

Red:

- Motion to approve red section (updates to grammar). Motion L. Hallworth; 2nd K. DiRocco
- Motion to approve red section in bylaws 2/3 vote. Carried.
- Abstentions: 2

Blue:

- Main Motion: Approve blue section (Provincial Legislation): L. Webber; 2nd A. Lay Higinio
- Amendment: L. Webber amendment to strike 44(4); A. Lay Higinio 2nd
- Motion to strike 44(4) from bylaws, motion defeated.
- Amendment: to strike out everything after "witness" in 44(4) to read: All shorthand reporters or their agents providing shorthand reporting or court reporting services on their behalf have a valid appointment as a Commissioner for Oaths in order to swear in witnesses. J. Plomp; 2nd T. Reule. Amendment is carried
- Amendment: E. Royal strike everything after witness; 2nd C. James. Carried.

- Discussion: Parliamentarian requested that Jerry Weigl desire to have "certified" in front of shorthand reporter be added to the minutes as there was insufficient time to discuss the matter and it may be worthy of raising issue at future AGM.
- All in favour of adopting blue section as amended in bylaws 2/3 vote. Carried.

9. COUNCIL ELECTIONS

- Elise Eichmuller as returning President
- Election of Secretary: Linda Hallworth. No further nominations were received. Linda Hallworth was elected the new ASRA Secretary.
- Treasurer position: Jody Yankowski moves to position
- All other council members remain in positions

10. SPEED CONTEST RESULTS

- Elise Eichmuller introduces the participants of the speed contest: ASRA Speed Competition
- Elise Eichmuller announced Megan won speed contest

11. ADJOURNMENT

• E. Royal motioned to adjourn at 10:55

Submitted by Jody Yankowski, ASRA Secretary 2019-2020